There are 7 Emirates in the UAE


So … you’ve accepted the job after the whirlwind of online applications, document gathering, phone interviews and an in-person-via-skype interview … and now you better find out a bit about where you are going – not least because everybody will be asking about it.

Time to do a little homework – as you haven’t done enough already!

The UAE (دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة‎‎) is made up of 7 Emirates:


  • Sharjah
  • Fujirah
  • Dubai
  • Abu Dhabi
  • Ajman
  • Umm al-Quwain
  • Ras al-Khaimah




Abu Dhabi (as you can see from the map) is the largest Emirate and Abu Dhabi city is the capital of the UAE itself. Each Emirate is governed by an absolute monarch; together they jointly for the Federation Supreme Council.

Fun fact: In 2013, the UAE’s total population was 9.2 million, of which 1.4 million are Emirati citizens and 7.8 million are expats.
[source: ]

This youtube video might help you to learn the names of the 7 Emirates … and will definitely get stuck in your head!






Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s